Talk To Me 20: My “YES!” moments in books

When I’m emotionally involved in a book, I end up reacting out loud to certain events. When something bad happens, I can actually be heard going “Nooo!” In my head, it sounds more like “NOOOOOO!” but I end up verbalising something less dramatic. ๐Ÿ˜› When something good happens, I actually go “YES!” in a very triumphant voice.

Today, I want to talk about what moments make me go “YES!” in books. Basically, the moments that I LOVE seeing in books.ย To the list!

#1: When the protagonist gets called out for their crappy behaviour

Not all protagonists are perfect. If they were, I would be very bored. They’re bound to have character flaws and do stupid things. I think I love it when a protagonist gets shaken up by someone they trust and told “You’re acting stupid!” I like it when the protagonistย gets called out because it’s usually the prelude to some serious character development.

If everyone around the protagonist thought they were perfect and wonderful and fawned over them, I wouldn’t buy it. The protagonist wouldn’t seem believable to me at all.

#2: When the protagonist stands up for themselves to a character that’s been treating them badly

Oh, I love this moment. I’m sure the main character has another character that’s been treating them like dirt, whether through verbal insults or physical pushing-around. When the main character finally realises that NO ONE deserves that kind of treatment and stands up to that character, I can’t help but cheer them on.

#3: When the protagonist realises that they can be better

There’s that moment in books when all seems lost. In fantasy books, someone has just died/been kidnapped or the magical item has been lost. Maybe the protagonist has been deserted by their companions or been wrongly accused. They may spend a fair bit of them in the gloom, and I can understand that.

What I love is when the protagonist decides to stop feeling sorry for themselves, put on their big kid pants, and attack the problem with renewed vigour. Cue a training montage if you feel like imagining that.

Those are just a few examples of my “YES!” moments in books. As you can probably guess, they all relate to character development. When events trigger a change in the character and get them on the road to becoming more well-rounded, I like those moments. Maybe even more than the swoon-worthy kissing bits. ๐Ÿ˜›

What about you, dear reader?

What are some of your “YES!” moments in books? Do we share “YES!” moments?

Let me know in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Talk To Me 20: My “YES!” moments in books

  1. Most of my YES! moments involve kissing. LoL I love romance, and when the love interests have been toeing around each other for sooooo long and then finally come together, I’m all YESSSSS!!!

    I also have these moments when a character has been keeping something very important a secret, but can never find the right moment to come clean, but then they finally do! Secrets drive me bonkers, so having them revealed is an ultimate YES! moment. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Hmmm. I’m actually not surround about this one. I know I have “yes!” moments, but nothing particular comes to mind. I think it’s mostly when something I want to happen happens or when something awesome happens. What exactly depends on my mood while I read. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I love this! I definitely love #1 – there’s nothing more satisfying than seeing he character get called out for their crappy behavior! Definitely a “yes” moment!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Ana! I followed you ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to discussing many books with you!

  4. Haha I totally do that, too. Not super often, but maybe if like an evil character dies or the protagonist does something really cool, or something happens that I predicted and really wanted to occur. But I feel like I probably say “Nooooo” more often than I end up saying “YES!” to be honest.

  5. Those are all definitely yes moments! I don’t know what else I’d say is yes….when two people finally come together that have had lots of tension. Normally I don’t read a lot of romance so when I do have a couple like that say in an adult SFF book then I totally rave for them.

  6. Haha! I seem to be less excited by love interests kissing and more excited by their big confession scenes, but I can totally understand you there. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Oh yes, I love those too! When the secret is something that helps the character, like if they were being suspected or something, I love it when the REAL culprit gets identified. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I get you there, haha. It depends on the book I read too. For mysteries/dystopians, I’m all for the kicking ass moments but not so much for the romance. ๐Ÿ˜› For other books, I’m more open to the romance moments. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Totally! I love it when someone just goes “HEY. You’re acting like an idiot. Stop that.”

    You’re welcome, Dee! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love discussing books with my friends!

  9. Haha! I should start up a discussion topic of “Noooooo!” moments then! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d love to hear your thoughts on that!

  10. For books that don’t feature romance, having a main couple is a tricky thing for me. Their romance has to be believable, and fit in with the story. Oh, and not take away from the main danger/issues/problems that they have to face, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. There aren’t too many books that have actually made me cry out a reaction, but it’s certainly a mark of a good book.

    YES. When their friends are actually sensible and tell the MC that they are being crazy, this is GOOD. I also love it when someone realises that finally, they can do this! And I totally have a little montage in my head ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Probably cos I read way too much fantasy which involves such violent things but… sometimes characters need their revenge killings. Perhaps someone killed their family or ruined their life in some way. It’s uh… strangely satisfying when it finally goes right for that character.

Comments are closed.