Talk To Me 19: Scheduling Posts

I don’t have a lot of posts every week on my blog. Checking my calendar, it’s about 3 per week plus some more if I post about events or things like that. My usual formula is one discussion post, two reviews, and one wrap-up post. It doesn’t seem like a small number, but doesn’t seem big either. I think it’s a nice little in-between number of posts, and I like it because it allows me to build up a buffer.

I like having a buffer of posts, because it lets me kick back and chill sometimes while letting my scheduled posts run the blog. Sometimes it will be weeks between me rating the book on Goodreads and posting an actual review on my blog, all because I like to schedule posts over “post as you write.”

Sometimes I can get really in the zone when I write posts, especially discussion posts. As I type this (March!), I have discussion posts queued up until April. This post is probably going up in May. πŸ˜› Greetings from the past! So yes, I like to get really in the zone and crank out a few posts good for a few weeks, then spend the rest of the time just chilling and relaxing.

Much like this cat. (gif not mine)

Much like this cat. (gif not mine)

I hardly write a post that goes up right when I finish it. Even my weekly digests are done the day before and are scheduled. I just really love scheduling things, everyone! Haha!

What about you, dear reader?

Are you a buffer-builder or a post-as-you-write kind of blogger?

Let me know in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Talk To Me 19: Scheduling Posts

  1. I like to schedule things in advance, as well, though I’ve been falling a bit behind likely!

    I think 4 posts a week is plenty, especially for one blogger! We have about the same on Pages Unbound, and there are two of us contributing!

  2. The only posts I have that go up same day are unexpected little things, like I just signed up for a summer reading challenge. I didn’t see the sign up post initially, so my post went up May 1st (start of the challenge). Other than that all of my posts are scheduled. My Stacking the Shelves and monthly recaps are finished the night before, but I always start them early. All of my reviews are scheduled weeks or months out. The reviews going up on my blog right now are from February, and I’m currently nearly done filling up August. Yeah, I’m really far ahead and I wouldn’t have it any other way! I like not having to worry about having content every day in case something comes up since it’s already done. πŸ™‚

  3. I used to write as I posted, and as soon as I’d written a post, it would be up on the blog.
    But then i got really ahead of myself! I read so many books and wrote quite a few discussion/personal posts and now I have scheduled posts until June. I like it that way. I like knowing that even if I sidetracked with life and have no or little time for blogging, there are still going to be posts for my readers. I like the feeling of security that comes with having posts scheduled ahead of time. πŸ˜€

  4. I like having scheduled posts. It does completely mean that you can sit back and relax. It is rare that a review goes up straight away after finishing it.

  5. I’m a buffer builder! It is just as you say – it’s nice to have some posts saved up for the future just in case you get too busy. And if I have a post that I would like to put up sooner then I can just move around the scheduled blog posts to suit. It’s a great thing!

  6. This is exactly the same way that I blog, too! Write now I’m currently working on posts for the end of June, but I have some scheduled for July already, too. I love doing it this way πŸ™‚ It gives me to leeway to be able to take a break from blogging whenever I need to, because usually at any given time, my posts are scheduled at least a few weeks in advance. And it really lets me plan things out so that I have a good balance of posts each week. It’s just so much easier that way!

  7. I hear you! I’m down to only like… Four scheduled posts! Oh no! I feel the urge to schedule overcoming me! :O

    I always feel the need to post about that number to shove out new content, but it’s been pretty good so far. πŸ™‚

  8. I NEVER used to schedule posts, I don’t know how I managed it. Maybe that’s why I ended up taking a couple of breaks… Now I try to make sure that I schedule a week ahead. I don’t normally go further than that, although I may try to soon. However, I’ve still got to write tomorrow’s Fantasy Friday post, as I had a friend staying from last Weds-Tues this week, so wasn’t able to write any posts for the end of the week/beginning of the next.

    I think at the weekend I might give it a go at planning for the rest of the month. I do actually have a calendar printout where I write my posts, then do a big green tick when they’re scheduled (which is very satisfying to see ;D), so it’s easy to see what still needs to be done.

  9. I am so a scheduler! I used to write as you post but it stressed me out so much and somewhere along the way I’ve gone from ‘finish reading, write review, post review’ to ‘well that review isn’t going out until July’, it’s crazy! I couldn’t imagine not being ahead of posts, it’d just scare and worry me and I’d probably crumble, plus the fact that I can just take chill days and game all day or do something else is such a bonus to being ahead, although slotting late ARC’s into gaps and moving things about becomes stressful, but clouds and silver linings eh? Great topic! πŸ˜€

  10. I schedule posts too! I feel like I could never NOT schedule posts. Scheduling them makes blogging so stress-free. If I always wrote posts the night before to go up the next day, it would really stress me out. I’d worry about not getting things up on time, and what if I want to take a few days off??? With scheduling, I don’t have to worry about any of that!

    I’m usually only scheduled 2-3 weeks out, but it works well for me. πŸ™‚

  11. I’m sort of in-between, I guess. I have a schedule, in that I have planned out what I’m going to post when (for the most part… I do have some flexibility built-in). But I usually don’t actually write the post more than a week in advance. Sometimes it’s the day before. (Okay, a lot of times it’s the day before.)

    So, I like not having to think about “what am I going to post today?” but at the same time I do wish I were better about just sitting down and doing it more in advance, so I could have that buffer if I ever need it.

  12. I’m down to the wire with my reviews in terms of scheduling, haha! I’m going to try and catch up on books in my free time, so I can plan out my month like you. πŸ˜€

    Oh, ticking things off just feels SO GOOD. πŸ™‚

  13. Yay, another scheduler (and a gamer? WOO!)! I love the freedom that scheduling posts provides, you’re right. πŸ™‚ Clouds and silver linings. An afternoon’s worth of post-drafting is nothing compared to having a nice and lazy afternoon. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Amanda!

  14. Exactly! Having a whole bunch of scheduled posts just frees up more time later on. Win-wins all around, I say!

    For reviews, I’m currently down to the wire, haha! But for discussions, I have a few weeks of wiggle room. It seems a couple of weeks is the usual for scheduling bloggers. πŸ™‚

  15. I hear you there, Charleen! It seems my reviews are down to the wire now, haha!

    Yes, exactly. πŸ™‚ Sometimes you just want to let the book blog run itself.

Comments are closed.