Review 32: The Last Continent (Terry Pratchett)

This book is technically part of a “series” but can also be read as a standalone.

32-PratchettTitle: The Last Continent

Series: Discworld #22

Author: Terry Pratchett

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: This is the Discworld’s last continent, a completely separate creation. It’s hot. It’s dry… Very dry. There was this thing once called The Wet, which no one now believes in. Practically everything that’s not poisonous is venomous. But it’s the best bloody place in the world, all right?

And it’ll die in a few days, except…

Who is this hero striding across the red desert? Champion sheep shearer, horse rider, road warrior, beer drinker, bush ranger and someone who’ll even eat a Meat Pie Floater when he’s sober? A man in a hat, whose Luggage follows him on little legs, who’s about to change history by preventing a swagman stealing a jumbuck by a billabong?

Yes… All this place has between itself and wind-blown doom is Rincewind, the inept wizard who can’t even spell wizard. He’s the only hero left.

Still… no worries, eh?

The Last Continent is the twenty-second in Terry Pratchett’s phenomenally successful Discworld series.

Terry Pratchett would like it to be known that The Last Continent is not a book about Australia. It’s just vaguely Australian. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

I know I said I don’t normally review Pratchett  books because I love them too much and probably wouldn’t be able to say much about them. I wanted to review this book because I know I have some Australian blogger friends out there, and also because my review backlog has run out. 😛 Anyway, onto the review!

Although this book is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone. That’s what I like about Discworld, because I can just pick up a book from any point in the series and I would be able to get it. There are some little bits like characters that were introduced in previous books, but other than that, most of the Discworld books work as standalone titles.

As always, this book was hilarious! There are so many little jokes about Australian things, from the food to the animals. Pratchett is very good at parodying things we have here in the real world. I only lived in Australia for a little while, but the jokes didn’t fly over my head. There was even a crack about New Zealand that made me snort and giggle!

This book mainly focuses on the wizards in Discworld, and it can give a pretty good overview of the different wizards and their personalities. It’s full of really colourful characters, something I have come to love most about Discworld. There’s no shortage of funny one-liners or in-jokes or gags to go around, whether the book follows Rincewind or the wizards on their own adventure

The only thing that really keeps me from loving this book is how it wrapped up. I guess it does get kind of confusing at the end, and requires more than the usual level of accepting weird fantasy plot shenanigans. Still, it made for a hilarious read that is good for old and new readers of Discworld alike.

Overall: If you’re an old fan of this series, I think you’ll enjoy the new continent that adds to the richness of Discworld. If you’re pretty new to the Discworld series, this will help you get to know the wizards even better. Whatever happens, I hope this book makes you laugh as much as it made me.

One thought on “Review 32: The Last Continent (Terry Pratchett)

Comments are closed.