Talk To Me 15: Books That Hurt So Good

I have a love/hate relationship with sad books. I can get so into a sad book that I put it down feeling so sad or angry. I’m not sad or angry because I disliked the book, but because it was so well-written that it made me feel TOO MANY THINGS. For me, a sad book doesn’t necessarily have to end in tragedy. For me, a sad book is one that makes me want to put the characters in comfy blankets and give them hot chocolate. They go through so much pain and hardship, and I end up being so attached to them because I just want to see them safe. They reduce me to a puddle of tears.

ad-tobias-sobbing

(gif not mine)

So what do I like about sad books?

#1: Showing how people deal with grief.

I really like it when an author does a good job of showing how different kinds of people deal with grief. Some people can seem to handle it really well, only to be bottling everything inside. Others might lash out immediately with anger or coldness, pushing away people and refusing to talk about it. Dealing with the pain of losing a loved one isn’t something that can be fixed quickly, and I appreciate stories that show the progression of a grieving character.

#2: When characters get hurt, but use it to learn and adapt.

Life may kick around the characters, but when they pick themselves back up and keep going, I really like that. I’m okay with characters that mope or feel bad for a while after the bad thing happens because you can’t expect anyone to be a-okay right after that. But when books show how they, even if slowly, manage to deal with their pain and ultimately become a better character for it. Good character develop reigns, I say!

However, I get very frustrated with characters that ONLY mope and feel bad for themselves and wallow in their pity party until some amazing event happens. Like some hot guy appears on the scene and they suddenly undergo some crazy personality change, turning them into the Sunshine Faerie. That’s completely different. It’s like they’ve been zapped with the happy ray instead of the change coming from inside themselves.

(gif not mine)

(gif not mine)

#3: When the characters are able to overcome it all, and get their happy ending.

After the book is just event after event of sadness or pain, and after the characters undergo some really good development, reading that they managed to get to their happy ending feels AMAZING. After crying with them, seeing them happy is a wonderful thing. Even if they aren’t 100% okay or they still have some pain to deal with, at least they’re on the road to a happier place.

#4: When they don’t get their happy ending.

Okay, I really like happy endings, don’t get me wrong. But when a character doesn’t get their happy ending, it can feel more realistic. Some people will never be able to completely get over a loss, and I understand that. We all carry baggage and pain with us, and a well-written story that touches on this is something I enjoy.

There are also some stories that have a very sad ending, and some that will just make me scream and go “NOOOO! WHY WHY WHY?!” I’ll feel very bad for a while, lay in bed, call my boyfriend and yell about the book. Then I’ll sit up and realise that it was still a good way for it to end. I wanted a happy ending for the characters, and I didn’t get it. You can’t get everything you want in life, right?

Endings like this remind me that the world can be a very sucky place, and maybe a little more kindness and compassion is needed. πŸ™‚

What about you, dear reader?

Do you like books that hurt so good? What books have made you feel TOO MANY THINGS?

Let me know in the comments!

17 thoughts on “Talk To Me 15: Books That Hurt So Good

  1. Books that make me cry are my favorite! Either tragic endings, or happy ones that just make me explode with feeling!

    My top heartbreakers which made me ugly cry and just stare off into space when I was done were Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma and Redemption by H.D. Gordon. Both just killed me! But they were soooo good! I wish I could read them both for the first time again!

    On the flipside, the emotional happy endings were With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent and The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. I love a happy ending! I also cried through most of A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron, because it was super adorable, sad, and happy. It had it all!

  2. I don’t like reading happily ever after all the time. I like a book to move me. Forbidden and Hurt by Tabitha Suzuma are incredibly sad reads but good all the same. Also Undone by Cat Clarke, I still think about, even though I read it months and months ago. I like a book that makes an impact.

  3. I love reading those kinds of sad books – ones where the characters go through a lot but in the end get a happy ending. (sad books where sad things happen and then it ends sadly – not so much) Like for my favorite book “Jane Eyre” – it has a very happy ending but it makes me feel a little sad in a good way sometimes when I come to the end.

    I wholeheartedly agree with your 2nd point too – I recently read a couple books (The Ascendance Trilogy) where the protagonist was going through some awful things, but he found the strength to rise up and that is so satisfying!

  4. I have a love/hate relationship with sad books too! I’m usually afraid of them though. They can get depressing. But I’ve found some that I love. But the worst are definitely the ones you mentioned on the second paragraph of #2. Those are just plain awful, and I can’t stand them.

  5. roroisreading says:

    This is me in one sentence

    #4: When they don’t get their happy ending.

    It feels just so realistic

  6. I like books that deal with issues, but I am such a heard-heart when it comes to books actually influencing my emotions. I can Care about the characters, but it takes SO MUCH for me to really invest and care enough to be cry or be deliriously happy about their ending.
    The two books that I always think of as making me emotional are two of the very few that have made me cry. The Book Thief – for so many reasons. I don’t think I have to say them! And Champion by Marie Lu. I felt more for these characters than almost ever before. I wanted them to be happy. I wanted every single thing to turn out perfectly for them because they were SO real to me! Champion was definitely a case where I was really and truly invested in characters and their story!
    Recently I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and it made me feel a lot. But it wasn’t necessarily about the characters. It was about me. I related to the MC so much, it almost felt like reading a book about myself, so it made me really really emotional!

  7. Yeah, it can be really hard to read the characters grow through awful things, but I love it when they end up picking themselves back up! πŸ˜€

  8. Marie Lu’s writing seems to be getting a lot of love. :O I’m more easily attached to characters, especially if I can relate to them more. I really have to read Fangirl soon, since I’ve heard great things. πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.