Review 25: Broken Bargain (Clare Davidson)

SPOILER WARNING: The synopsis and review will contain spoilers for the first book in the Hidden series, Broken Bargain. My review for the first book can be found here.

Title: Broken Bargain

Series: Hidden #2

Author: Clare Davidson

Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy

Synopsis: When you know magic is real, complacency is not an option.

It’s a new school year and ten months since Kim’s sister died. She wants to forget about magic, rebuild her life and start fresh. But it’s not easy when she has to lie to everyone: her family, best friend, Sophie, and secretive new guy, AJ.

But when Sophie’s grandmother falls ill, Kim can’t help but notice the parallels to Charley’s death. Convinced she’s the only one who can help, Kim sets out to discover what’s really wrong with Sophie’s grandmother. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book in any way.

I really enjoyed the first book (Reaper’s Rhythm) but I’m not sure if I enjoyed the second one just as much. Kim is still the brave and determined protagonist from the first book, but this one features the addition of the cute new guy in school. What I loved about the first book is that the story stayed firmly on track without all the crazy teenage hormones getting in the way. This one started to venture into that territory, and I felt the urge to groan, but the story still progressed nicely.

Maybe the introduction of AJ can be seen as a natural progression? Maybe something about Kim slowly learning to trust others again after the events of the first book. I just wasn’t sure if their love story was completely necessary, because solving the mystery as good friends can still be an enjoyable read. I want to smack the insta-love label on this, but I can’t fully do it. They may have their moments, but they’re still smart and know that they have a bigger problem on their hands.

The pacing was good, and I flew through the story relatively quickly. It was nice to learn more about all the characters, about Sophie’s family and about the supernatural races of the Baneem and Shamari. The build up to the climax was done well, and the climax itself made my heart beat fast.

Overall: The story gets three out of five stars. I liked it, and it was nice to see familiar characters again, but I didn’t like it as much as the first book. The first book kept me more on my toes, and it was more exciting. I did like AJ, and liked seeing how Kim continues to develop after the events of the last book.

4 thoughts on “Review 25: Broken Bargain (Clare Davidson)

  1. It does seem to be common in series! The second book undergoes some slump or isn’t as good as the first. Or maybe it’s common for all kinds of sequels? Who knows!

Comments are closed.