Review 23: The Memory Game (Sharon Sant)

23-SantTitle: The Memory Game

Author: Sharon Sant

Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy

Synopsis: ‘If there is a hell, I think maybe this is it.’

Weeks after fifteen-year-old David is killed by a speeding driver, he’s still hanging around and he doesn’t know why. The only person who can see and hear him is the girl he spent his schooldays bullying.

Bethany is the most hated girl at school. She hides away, alone with her secrets until, one day, the ghost of a boy killed in a hit-and-run starts to haunt her.

Together, they find that the end is only the beginning… (Goodreads)

Rating: 

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book in any way.

I’m going to try to make this review sound semi-coherent because this book just destroyed my feelings and it’s hard to convey it. If I wanted to, this review would just be “GREAT BOOK, MY FEELINGS ARE GONE, FIVE STARS.” But I need to write out why I liked it, because although it really frustrated me at times, it was a good reading experience.

This book has so much pain, from David’s regrets after his death to Bethany and her experiences with bullying and a hard family life. Other characters are also dealing with their own pain, whether it’s grief over David, or brought on by other causes. The book is written from David’s point-of-view, but Sant has managed to convey pain, sadness, and anger so well. I was clutching my Kindle, wanting to yell because I wanted to pick up David and Bethany and take them somewhere safe. It’s almost overwhelming to keep reading because the pain is just so raw and real that I felt my heart rate going up.

This story is not light or sweet, it doesn’t gloss over the pain and mindset that can result from bullying, or abuse, or grief. It shows how, in Bethany’s words, “small-minded” people can be about things. I felt like yelling at some of the characters that just seemed so cowardly and uncaring. It scares me to think that people have been in Bethany’s situation and the people around them were just either indifferent or did not take any sort of action. It’s so frustrating!

I don’t really have any complaints about the story. The ending felt a little abrupt, but I suppose it managed to fit in the story.

Overall: This book gets five stars because it was so well-written, able to convey the pain and anger of the characters really well. This book is incredibly sad and heart-breaking, and is just so heavy with emotion.

8 thoughts on “Review 23: The Memory Game (Sharon Sant)

  1. It’s really heavy, and you WILL need something to decompress and relax with after it. But it’s so good. It hurts, but it hurts so good.

    (Edited. ;))

Comments are closed.