Talk To Me 12: Brooding Book Boyfriends

It seems that a lot of people have a thing for the “bad boy” in books. They swoon over his angst, his dark and quiet sexiness, and dismiss his insults as just a front to cover up his true feelings. I can understand this, and I even wrote a post about it for last year’s Love Triangles 101 on my old blog.

But for me, I much prefer the good guy in the books. I like the male character that is friendly and kind, the one that doesn’t react to the MC in the immediate “Ugh, get out of my face because you make me feel things I’ve never felt before.” Whenever a love triangle pops up, I usually feel more attached to the kinder one. Even if it isn’t a love triangle, if one of the secondary characters is a happy boy-next-door compared to the broody main male, I’ll go for the happy character.

For an example involving a love triangle, I refer you to The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. Will is this gruff and sharp-tongued male, compared to the nicer and sweeter Jem. Almost immediately, I was put off by how Will acted and I was attached to Jem for the rest of the series. Another example is the trio from Sky Song series by Sharon Sant (a series I definitely enjoyed more). So Jacob may not exactly be the angsty broody boy, but Luca is the guy who will make a lady laugh, he will take her out for a good time, and he’s that source of humour in the book.

Maybe it’s because I don’t go for the brooding bad boys in real life or in other forms of media. I like a guy who I can be great friends with, that we can make each other laugh, and doesn’t bring me down with insults or push me away. I don’t get attracted to the guy who treats me harshly, who looks at me with a glare and makes me feel like he hates being around me.

I’m sorry, but mama don’t need that drama!

How about you, dear reader?

Do you love Bad Boys? Why or why not? Or, like me, do you prefer the Good Guys?

Let me know in the comments!

25 thoughts on “Talk To Me 12: Brooding Book Boyfriends

  1. Ooh good question! I’m afraid I do go for those brooding guys in books – and I don’t think it’s a good thing. Because they do have lots of baggage and sometimes they aren’t very nice and no girl deserves that! But I suppose there is something alluring in a mysterious guy and that’s why I enjoy reading about them in books and needing to peel away those layers. In real life I think I like the nicer guys more – especially if they are real gentlemanly- it just melts my heart. 😀

  2. I do love bad boys and prefer them over the nice guy, but it does depend. If the bad boy is a straight up jerk rather than just a tattooed, wild child, then I’ll probably be annoyed with him. I do love enemies-to-lovers romances though, so the jerk bad boy can work for me if the heroine isn’t some wilting flower, and actually pushes him back! I much prefer this to the guy who worships the ground she walks on. And sometimes, in the love triangle scenario, the nice guy is often boring and just serves the purpose of “nice guy love interest” so the bad boy wins for me instantly.

  3. Nuzaifa @ Say It With Books says:

    In certain books I do go for the bad guy but there’s a thin line between being being a bad boy and being an outright jerk. Some books tend to crossover to the latter and that only succeeds in frustrating me.

    In real life though, I’m ‘team good guys’ all the way-I don’t think I’d enjoy being with someone who brings me down!

  4. Well I do like a bad boy but I like the ones that are really a good guy underneath. One who acts outlandishly but it is just that an act. Having said that I married a good guy but in fantasy I like the danger..LOL

  5. OH LOL!! I’m not sure if I pick a boy based on whether he’s “good” or “bad” (maybe subconsciously I do), because most of the time I’ll let the story take me whereever it goes and fall in love with one of the guys! As a general rule though, I’m not a fan of love triangles so =D

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

  6. Yup I’m a Jem girl too! lol I don’t get how being treated like dirt by a guy is something to swoon over, I don’t need mind games, I prefer honesty and respect so a lot of the time I just eye roll at the “bad boy” behaviour.

  7. You are not alone! I’m definitely a good girl as well, and it completely reflects how I am in real life. While there is always that dangerous appeal to a bad boy, my brain always quickly shuts it down because it knows that true happiness lies with the good guy who will love you and take care of you and treat you right! It’s a shame more characters in the stories don’t realize that and pursue these sweeties! (But then again, that just means more for us. Right, Ana? :P)

  8. I like it when they have layers too, just as long as they aren’t the two-dimensional stereotypical bad boy with no real originality. 🙂

    Yes, gentlemanly guys are awesome!

  9. Yeah, that’s one of the downfalls of liking the nice guy in stories. :/ Sometimes they’re just really boring and become a foil character, and that’s it. But yes, I dislike bad boys A LOT if they’re just a straight up jerkass, haha!

  10. So true! When the guy’s just a jerk for the sake of being a jerk, he better shove off!

    Yeah, when someone’s partner just brings them down and makes them feel like crap, that’s a very bad thing in a relationship. 😐

  11. YAY FOR JEM! JEM 4EVER! ❤ Haha!

    Yes, I hate it when the bad guy jerks the girl around by like giving her mixed signals or trying to make her jealous or something. :/ She doesn't need that drama!

  12. Yes, so true! Some MCs just leave the sweetheart in the dust and I feel like swooping in and taking him instead, haha! (Exactly, Asti. ;))

  13. I actually wrote a post about how bad boy book boyfriends are my weakness, haha!
    I just think they’re so swoony. There is a difference for me, though. I want the bad boy to have some redeeming qualities. I don’t just want him being a hostile jerk all the time. I want glimpses of softness, and passive protectiveness (because overprotectiveness is such a turn off), and humour. I like my bad boys multi-faceted. They’re much better that way.
    Even though the bad boy is my weakness, I also like the good boys. But only if there is no love triangle. If there is a love triangle, i will always be on team bad boy, haha. 😀

  14. I’ve pretty much fallen in love with my fair share of brooding bad boys, but I also really like the nice guys. Love triangles are always difficult and choosing between the two depends mostly on who the characters meld better with. I would say that my personal preference would definitely be good guys. Even dorky guys. Haha.

  15. Overprotectiveness is SUCH a turn-off, totally. It borders on possessive and if the guy’s like “Don’t talk to other guys! You’re MINE!” then I get really mad. She’s not an object, man! Multi-faceted characters are really good too, haha. I would like the bad boy more if he had more depth than he first seems to have. 🙂

  16. Definitely! If the male lead cheats, then he loses my respect. If the female lead goes BACK to him after this cheating incident, then she makes me want to scream! 😐

Comments are closed.