Review 14: Ever (Gail Carson Levine)


14-LevineTitle:
 Ever

Author: Gail Carson Levine

Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy

Synopsis: Falling in love is never easy, but falling in love with an immortal god while your days on earth are numbered is almost more than a young girl can bear.

Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine has created a stunning new world of flawed gods, unbreakable vows, and ancient omens in this spellbinding story of Kezi, a girl confronted with a terrible destiny. Attempting to thwart her fate, Kezi and her love, Olus—the god of wind and loneliness—embark on a series of dangerous and seemingly impossible quests. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

This book was different from my usual Levine book because I wasn’t totally entranced by it. I’m not sure because it was just an off day for me, but this fell short of my expectations. I think it was mainly because of the writing style. However, I did enjoy Levine’s world-building and I liked the characters.

In the book, I loved learning about the customs and traditions of Kezi and Olus. She’s mortal, he’s a god, so they’re bound to have some differences in lifestyle and custom. Both cultures are rich and vibrant. Kezi’s culture is full of colour and shows in her love for weaving and dancing. Meanwhile, Olus’ world seems more human than god-like. He works as a goatherd; he can interact with humans and be inconspicuous. His home also has traditions that seem very human without the addition of magical winds or things like that. I especially loved reading them talk about their wedding ceremonies differ, because both sound like a real blast to attend.

With the switching first-person POV, the book allows the reader to really get into their heads. Even though Olus is a god, he’s not too different from Kezi. Both of them are brave and committed to the people that they love, and Kezi’s bravery is even more impressive because she is willing to venture into the unknown. To me, Kezi is the kind of heroine who is kickass but quiet. She is doesn’t have biting sarcastic wit, nor does she go around kicking ass or taking names. Instead, she starts fearful and wary, but she keeps pushing herself because she knows that it needs to be done.

As for what I didn’t like, the writing style was choppy to me. It seemed odd and disjointed, like I was just getting a feel for a scene when I suddenly get whisked off to another scene. Parts of the book started to drag for me. Basically, the pacing just felt weird and the choppy writing style didn’t help much.

Overall: This book gets three stars because I did like the world-building and characters (especially their development). However, the book wasn’t that captivating and the writing style felt choppy and disjointed. Not the best book I read from her, but it was still a bit enjoyable.

5 thoughts on “Review 14: Ever (Gail Carson Levine)

Comments are closed.