Talk To Me 06: Books I don’t review

If there’s one thing that I always have to remember about book blogging, it is to have fun and take breaks. When I read a book I know I’ll be reviewing, I mentally take note of things that I did and did not write. By the end of it, I’ll usually have some kind of idea of what my review will be like. Usually. Unusual cases to be discussed another time.

Anyway, I have to remember to take breaks. Sometimes I’ll pick up a book and I decide that I won’t review this. I just want to enjoy it without mentally noting stuff for a review. It’s just nice to take off the reviewer glasses and kick back with a book that you like.

For me, these are books by an author that I really liked even before the days of my book blogging. I could try and review the Agatha Christie or Terry Pratchett or Ann M. Martin books that I read, but I don’t think I would have very substantial things to say. I would probably gush about them a whole lot and leave it at that.

Other books that I don’t review include real short ones that don’t really have a narrative. I like to pick up books like the Horrible Histories series. Not much to review there, haha!

Other types of books that I would probably not review are the classics. Then again, I don’t really read the classics (shame on you, Ana!) but if I do, I probably won’t review them. Maybe it’s because there are so many sources out there on the internet that intelligently discuss these books. Given that fact, I fear that my review would just sound completely dumb.

What about you, dear reader?

What books do you read but not review on your blog?

Let me know in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Talk To Me 06: Books I don’t review

  1. The longer I’ve been blogging, the more books I review. I rarely ever skip out on reviewing one, but sometimes I do. These are usually erotica novellas that I don’t have much to say about, and don’t think warrant a full review. I still write a few sentences about what I thought, but nothing in depth (these stories typically don’t have any depth themselves!).

    In my earlier days, if I felt like I didn’t have much to say, or if I happened to read it with my “reviewer glasses” off, I just wouldn’t. There wasn’t a pattern or certain type of book, it just happened. I didn’t worry about it at all. But now, I have things to say about almost everything I read and I think my reviewer glasses have melded with my eyes. 😛

  2. Ah, there’s really not much to review when it comes to most erotica novellas because of that lack of depth. “He was hot, I was hot, the elements mysteriously blew our clothes off.” is the usual line for these things, haha!

    I don’t know if I have my reviewer glasses on all the time, but maybe I’ll bring back some short reviews for books that I don’t think warrant a full review. Maybe as I keep up my blogging activity, they’ll be on more and I can write more reviews! 😀

  3. I don’t read a lot of classics either, but I’ve read a few the past years and I know I’ll never write a review for them on my blog. Like you said, there’s already so many articles about them online, what do I have to add? I could see myself writing a post about a classic, but not a review. Also, I don’t think before reading if I will or will not review that book. It just happens after reading, then I decide if I review it or not.

  4. I used to want to review all the books I read, but I think doing so would drive me crazy. Haha! I’m not really sure how I choose which ones to review and which ones not to. I guess it all depends on the time or thoughts I have to do so. I don’t really know. I do end up not reviewing books for book tours though when I didn’t like the book. Also, I totally understand your thoughts on reviewing the classics! I also think I look dumb when I write them. 😛

  5. I know what you mean! I generally review most of the books I read these days, even if it’s a mini review, but sometimes I just don’t feel like it! Usually these include rereads, or books like the Harry Potter ones where there’s just nothing left to say, or the books I read with my husband. Great post!

  6. There’s actually a TON of books that I read, but don’t review on my blog. But I do review everything I read…it’s just all on Goodreads. I pick and choose from the ones I post on Goodreads for which ones I’m going to put on the blog. I only post standalone reviews and reviews of the first book in a series on my blog, so that limits it a little. And I try to do mostly YA, so that narrows it down again. And obviously I have to post my ARC reviews on the blog, so a lot of my blog reviews are those ones, too. Great discussion post!

  7. Exactly! They’ve been analysed to death, and my thoughts don’t really stack up against any articles out there. I understand you there, sometimes I’ll pick up a book and go “Totally gonna review this.” But afterwards, I just don’t because I don’t feel like it. Pressure’s off, that’s the right idea. D

  8. Yeah, I know it nearly drove ME crazy! 😛 It does depend on the feel, doesn’t it? There are some books that I feel like HAVE to review though, like galleys/read-for-reviews/book tours. I don’t do the first or third ones much anymore though.

    Haha, glad to hear you share my thoughts on the classics!

  9. I don’t feel like reviewing books that I reread either! I can never get in the mood for minireviews, but I totally need to do them when I just don’t feel like busting out a full-blown review. 🙂 Thanks, Kelley!

  10. I’m totally the opposite. I hardly post my reviews on Goodreads, even though I really should! It’s really cool that you post standalone reviews too because I sometimes fret when I read a review of a really good book and realise OH NO, it’s a series and I have to wait for the next books to hit my shelves, noooo! Haha! Thanks, Miranda!

  11. We definitely do have to keep a balance, or reading would just end up feeling like a lot of work. I think you’ve got exactly the right attitude there – picking up an old favourite really helps.

    And yay for the Horrible Histories books! =D I still have all of mine, complete with my name in the front written by my 8-year-old self 😉

    I think it’s really difficult and kind of pointless to review the classics (or at least the REALLY well known ones) because so many people will already have opinions on them. I think the only one I’ve reviewed has been The Scarlet Pimpernel, which I’d class as a ‘lesser read’ classic to be honest.

  12. I think it’s a good thing that you read books, even if you know you won’t be reviewing them. That way your reading life still is your own and you read what you want whenever you please. For me, I still write a couple of sentences on Goodreads though if I don’t review a book on my blog, so that I can still look back on a book and remember how I felt about it.

  13. My co-blogger and I review some classics on our blog, but definitely not all the ones we read. I think classics in particular are difficult. On one hand, it’s easy to feel somewhat ridiculous reviewing them, or to feel like nothing you say is going to “matter.” I mean, they’re classics and have stood the test of time; people are going to continue to read them whether I write a review loving or loathing them. BUT, if you don’t write a review, there’s a slippery slope where you start rambling and writing something more “academic”–and there just isn’t time to explore everything you would want to. It’s a blog post, not an undergrad thesis. Finding a good balance between reviewing (why I liked it/didn’t like it) and intelligently touching on some themes (which seems worthwhile and necessary while discussing a classic) is a challenge.

  14. I still like to review all books.. but if I don’t have much to say about a book I’ll post it in a mini review. I do this with all the comic books I read. I know most of my readers don’t read comic books and find those posts boring. So I bundle them into two posts each month. I didn’t used to review them but then I felt like I take the time to read all them someone out there might enjoy the reviews.

  15. Yeah, that’s right. I never want to end up thinking of reading my books as work or something that I haaaaave to do. Sometimes we just need breaks. 🙂

    That’s awesome! I only have a few, and I discovered them a little late in life, but I still love them. 😛

    I think the closest thing I come to reviewing a “classic” on this blog is when I review Agatha Christie titles, and I’ve only reviewed one so far. Oops!

  16. Yep, that’s how we should see it. Read what you want when you want it. 🙂 I think I should try writing out a few sentences too, especially if the book wasn’t all that memorable.

  17. Identifying themes in the classics, and speaking intelligently about them is probably why I am intimidated by writing about the classics. I think it’s a throwback to having to write essays about them and how I think I sounded so stupid or couldn’t articulate my thoughts properly. I get pretty worked up over my grades, so I felt it was essential that I scored well.

    Even when not writing about the classics, I can sometimes slip into writing reviews longer than I wanted to. I remember writing a review about this one dystopian book that ended up being about morality and how judging people dehumanises them, or something to that effect. It did feel good to get my thoughts out like that though, and I should try to do it more often.

Comments are closed.