Review 10: An Abundance of Katherines (John Green)


10-GreenTitle:
 An Abundance of Katherines

Author: John Green

Genre: Young Adult; Romance

Synopsis: When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. He’s also a washed-up child prodigy with ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a passion for anagrams, and an overweight, Judge Judy-obsessed best friend. Colin’s on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which will predict the future of all relationships, transform him from a fading prodigy into a true genius, and finally win him the girl.

Letting expectations go and allowing love in are at the heart of Colin’s hilarious quest to find his missing piece and avenge dumpees everywhere. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

This was my first John Green book, having heard all about him from Crash Course and Mental Floss and so on. I have to say, for all the hype surrounding him and his books, I felt that this book was cute and witty, but did not really wow me like I thought it would. I don’t feel disappointed, mainly because I was preparing myself after the experience of being let down by another hyped author. Still, reading about Colin and his friends, and that blasted Theorem, made for a funny read.

This book had lots of fun little facts that I found interesting. The new words in different languages, facts about Tesla and politicians, and I even found the math rather intriguing. I don’t even like math! But I was still analysing Colin’s graphs (I didn’t even TRY with the equations) and trying to piece together what the lines meant.

I also liked the humour in the book. I love Green’s wit in his videos and it also comes off very well in print. This book definitely had me giggle-snorting throughout. I like the character dynamics, especially between Hassan and Colin. What I liked is how the characters are fleshed out, and how a real friend knows when to roll with you and when to call you out. Still, Colin’s constant whining did not do much for this book to pull me in.

Overall: I don’t really have much to say about this book. Three stars because it was funny and witty, and interesting in some bits. Otherwise, not one that completely entranced me. I wasn’t glued to it until I finished. Good enough, but still wasn’t amazing.

18 thoughts on “Review 10: An Abundance of Katherines (John Green)

  1. Yeah I thought it was pretty smart and witty, and the humor wasn’t so in your face but rather done more subtly. I liked this book more than John Green’s other ones like Paper Towns or Looking For Alaska but this is nothing compared to The Fault in Our Stars. Great review! 🙂

  2. I’m glad you at least liked it! This is one is probably in the middle of my list of John Green books (after Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Looking for Alaska). I loved all of the geekiness in it. 🙂

  3. I haven’t read his other books, but I know how to get my hands on Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska. As for The Fault in Our Stars, I still have to find me a copy. Thank you! 😀

  4. I could hear his voice in my head as I read! Guess that’s what happens after watching too much Crash Course. 😛

    Ah, really? I’ve heard mixed things about Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska, and pretty much everyone says The Fault in Our Stars is a cryfest. I’m not sure which one to pick up next. 😐

  5. I haven’t read this one yet, but I have read 2 John Green books and I can agree that he doesn’t blow my mind as much as he does for everyone else, especially once you read more than one book and come to find his character voices never change. He’s still very entertaining and witty, makes me laugh out loud. 🙂 Hopefully you’ll find a John Green book that wows you a little more than this one!

  6. This one’s probably my least favourite of John’s novels! I’d definitely recommend giving his others a try- especially TFIOS. Plus the movie is coming out soon, so that’s extra motivation to read it 😉

  7. What John Green books have you read? I wonder how Colin in this book stacks up against the male leads of his other books, and I am intrigued and want to see if they are just way too similar. If they are, I hope I can hold on to his wit to help me get through the book, haha!

  8. I’ll get around to it eventually, but definitely before the movie comes out! … I said the same thing about The Book Thief and Ender’s Game. Oops…

Comments are closed.