Review 05: The Immortal Rules (Julie Kagawa)

05-KagawaTitle: The Immortal Rules

Series: Blood of Eden #1

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy; Dystopia

Synopsis: To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness….

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for …again.

Enter Julie Kagawa’s dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

This was my first book of 2014 and I have no regrets about reading it! Special thanks to Charlotte for gifting this to me for Christmas, thank you! I admit, I’m not normally into books featuring vampires. While I don’t actively avoid them, I sometimes just don’t understand the hype surrounding them. Thankfully, Kagawa has managed to bring me over and get me very interested in her Blood of Eden series. This book had lots of action, mostly gory (for someone like me), but it was also balanced out by quiet moments of reflection on Allie’s part. I couldn’t really put it down!

One of the things I loved about the characters was their good and bad dynamics. On one hand, we have the vampires basically made out to be the epitome of evil. They’re labeled as demons, bloodsucking monsters that wouldn’t care if their methods hurt you. However, we also have the humans. Humans that sell each other out for the promise of a better life, willing to hurt and backstab if it meant saving their own skin. I like how it makes the reader question the line between good and bad, and how the real monsters might not be who you think they are.

I also loved our protagonist, Allie. She’s one kickass lady with her katana and I absolutely love how she had to train and practice instead of being super awesome at it right away. She doesn’t sugarcoat things and if someone needs a harsh talking to, she will give it. I liked her dynamic with Kanin, a sort-of mentor figure to her, probably the closest thing she’s ever had to a father. Her interactions with Zeke were also something that I enjoyed, a little bit of sweetness (and bitterness) in a book focused on the dark side of their world.

As for the world that Kagawa built, I liked how the information about it came in bits and pieces rather than as one huge information dump. There are still many questions I have about how it all came about, which really makes me want to read the next book in this series.

Overall: This book gets five stars from me for having a good balance of fast-paced action and character reflection. I loved the characters, all of whom I believe have their good and bad sides to them. I felt that the world-building was well done, giving me basic information about it and leaving the rest for the next book. Most of all, I enjoyed how the definition of good and bad was played with. Some monsters may end up with more humanity than certain human characters, and that’s something I look forward to in The Eternity Cure.

7 thoughts on “Review 05: The Immortal Rules (Julie Kagawa)

  1. I don’t read a lot of vampire novels either. I’m not really sure why. I like your review though so I’m thinking about reading this one. I’m interested in how the good and the bad would play out. I wonder how Allie handled being transformed. Also, why did she study using a katana?

  2. Ah, I do hope you read it. As someone who doesn’t read a lot of vampire stories, this one was a really good kind of “intro” to those kinds of books. As for the katana, they all need a weapon because their world is basically NUTS. She needed something to defend herself and she ended up picking a katana.

  3. Oh. Wonderful. Thanks for the recommendation. 😀 Sh turns into a vampire though so I assume she wouldn’t need any weapons. Or am I wrong? Lol. I should definitely read this and find out for myself.

  4. Well, I think it would just give her an advantage if she had a weapon. Especially if she was like fighting against another vampire. Like, they might be equals in speed/strength, so she may need an edge.

    Plus I bet she looks totally cool, haha! 😀

Comments are closed.