Review 04: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (Jennifer E. Smith)

04-SmithTitle: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Genre: Young Adult; Romance

Synopsis: Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.  (Goodreads)

Rating: 

As someone who generally dislikes the “love at first sight” trope, I admit that I was a little wary of this book. However, I really enjoyed seeing the relationship between Hadley and Oliver blossom, as well as how they dealt with their respective family issues. The way that Smith writes frustration, excitement, anger, grief, and acceptance is just so well-done that I had to keep reading and reading.

It’s true. I picked up this book thinking “okay, a few chapters before bed” but I ended up finishing it in one go. The story moves pretty fast since this book pretty much has Hadley running all over the place and chasing time. It’s a quick easy read with a lot of depth. Reading about Hadley’s family issues had my heart going out to her. I understood why she was so frustrated and angry. Smith was able to capture those feelings very well, showing that people say harsh things they don’t really mean when they’re angry or stressed as a defense mechanism.

I liked how Oliver helped her put things in perspective, how he helped rather than automatically fixing it all, and how Hadley was ultimately the one to handle her situation. This book may have had a cute love story, but I believe the family dynamic and story really made it for me. Like I said, Smith’s writing really manages to convey heavy feelings really well.

Maybe I’m going easy on this book because it’s the first Young Adult one I’ve read in a while. Maybe I’m just a sucker for these “if the timing had been off by just a little bit” kinds of stories. For whatever the reason, I really enjoyed this book.

Overall: This book gets five stars from me for making me feel for Hadley, a frustrated young girl feeling caught in family things that she can’t control. She doesn’t stay in that spot for the whole book and watching her development was a joy. If you like stories about families that aren’t perfect, pick this book up. If you like cute love stories, pick this book up. Enjoy!

18 thoughts on “Review 04: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (Jennifer E. Smith)

  1. I’m glad you liked this one! I thought it was adorable, and pretty much read it in one go, too! I remember reading a chapter here and there between classes until I had a longer break where I just devoured it!

  2. I remember really liking this book (despite not remembering what exactly it’s about lol). I do remember it was a really cute story though- although clearly not a particularly memorable one haha

  3. Sounds like a very beautiful book. I’m a sucker for these ‘what if…’ books like you. Sometimes I overthink things, wondering ‘what if I did that differently?’. So this is a book that sounds right up my alley!

  4. I bought this book in a sale some time ago but haven’t read it yet. So I’m very excited to see you give it 5 stars Ana! Bumps it up the list 🙂 I love books about family issues but it also sounds really cute. Really looking forward to it.

Comments are closed.