Review 02: Someone Like You (Sarah Dessen)

02- DessenTitle: Someone Like You

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: Young Adult; Romance

Synopsis: Halley has always followed in the wake of her best friend, Scarlett. But when Scarlett learns that her boyfriend has been killed in a motorcycle accident, and that she’s carrying his baby, she’s devastated. For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley. Their friendship may bend under the weight, but it’ll never break–because a true friendship is a promise you keep forever. (Goodreads)

Rating: 

This is the third book I’ve read by Dessen and I think I’m starting to get a feel for her style. Unlike The Truth About Forever or That Summer, Someone Like You didn’t wow me as much as the other two did. Maybe it was because I felt that things were happening in the most predictable and convenient ways possible. Of course Person A had to show up at that particular time with exactly what they need. Everything just seemed to come crashing down all at the same time and I started to miss that realistic feeling that Dessen’s books normally have for me.

That said, it wasn’t a bad book and I did find it enjoyable. However, it isn’t my favourite from her. Although Halley is different from the other main characters because she’s a little more daring, she of course has a best friend that’s more outgoing, prettier, and is the object of her envy. This is the same dynamic I saw with Haven-Casey and Macy-Kristy, so it was starting to get a little stale for me. While it is a fun little dynamic, sometimes I get in the mood for some different from “MC with more awesome BFF.”

What I did like about this book was that although it had the quintessential highschool setting with gossip and cliques, it wasn’t a complete dramavalanche. The “bad girls” of the school aren’t complete bitches whose sole purpose is to make the MC’s life hell, they’re more than just cookie-cutter bad popular characters, and I enjoyed seeing their other sides too.

The ending of the book left me a little unsatisfied because although it was uplifting, it seemed kind of unrealistic and cheesy. Again, more of the feel-good and cheesy movie-worthy scenes that are beginning to get old for me. Now that I’m starting to get a feel for Dessen’s writing, I have to wonder if the same dynamics and feel-good scenes are in all her books. Hopefully not all of them because I do want to read more of her books and if the same things show up again, I think I might end up getting turned off.

Overall: Someone Like You gets three stars for being a high school-set book with no huge dramavalanche and for showing the different sides to the common character stereotypes that I encounter in YA books with a high school setting. It’s not my favourite by her so I don’t really think I would end up recommending it.

One thought on “Review 02: Someone Like You (Sarah Dessen)

Comments are closed.