Talk To Me 01: Beautiful box sets

If I had the money, I would want to buy a finished series all in one go. I want a nice pretty box set, even though my wallet will probably hate me for it. Why? Because I love it when all of the covers of that series match on my bookshelf. If not, it will bother me so much! Additionally, if I have a paperback of Book One, then all following books must be a paperback too. Thankfully, I don’t usually buy hardcover, or else my wallet would really hate me!

For example, I loved Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock (review here on my old blog) and I really want to get my hands on the next two books in the trilogy. There’s two editions of this series, the one by Viking Australia which I don’t have:

boxset01

Then there’s the one by Candlewick Press which I do have:

boxset02

Both editions are pretty gorgeous, I’ll admit it. However, since my copy of Finnikin is a paperback by Candlewick Press, my copies of Froi and Quintana just have to be paperbacks by Candlewick Press too! Unfortunately, the paperback of Quintana comes in out in 2014. 😦 So I guess it’s time to play the waiting game.

Similarly, for my copies of the books from Gail Carson Levine’s Enchanted, I have the ones published by Harper. They’re the ones featuring lovely drawings of the main characters, and I much prefer them over the covers with photographs of models.

boxset03

When I have a complete matching set, I’m always pleased when they’re together because they match, and all is well in my detail-oriented book world. 🙂 Now I want to hear from YOU, dear reader!

Am I crazy for wanting my books to match like this? Please tell me I’m not alone!

25 thoughts on “Talk To Me 01: Beautiful box sets

  1. Woah new blog! I love the new name 😀

    I definitely agree, I LOVE having books matching. My Daughter of Smoke and Bone doesn’t match my Days of Blood and Starlight (US vs UK editions) and it looks so bad on the shelf…Whereas I have, for example, The Infernal Devices all the same size and editions and it looks awesome 😀
    And yes, I have the paperback vs hardback thing as well. I love when the series all match up nicely! You’re definitely not alone haha

  2. Oh my gosh, I know what you mean. I keep seeing the new Harry Potter box set everywhere and I want it so bad!! Right now I have a box set of paperbacks for the first 5 books, then hardcovers of the last 2, and it drives me crazy! I want them all to match!

  3. Yes, new blog! Haha! Thanks, Nara!

    Oh man, I would go ballistic if I had Bardugo books that didn’t match. There’s a third book coming out, right? Which edition are you planning on getting for that one? I love how your TID books all match though. It feels wonderful, doesn’t it? 😀

    Yay! I’m so glad I’m not alone in this weird bookish habit! 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, the NEW HARRY POTTER BOX SET. Doesn’t it look so beautiful and shelf-worthy?! It drives me nuts that I have a weird mix of paperback and hardcover books for my HP series too. I sure hope you get that really pretty box set! 😀 I was quite partial to the one that was in a treasure box.

  5. Hello Ana! Happy New Year! Just stumbled along on your blog but it looks gorgeous. Yay for a new start to a new year!

    Unfortunately, while I do like all my books looking nice and matching, I often get too excited for new books that come out and don’t mind whether they match or not, as long as I can get my hand on them! You would HATE my bookshelf haha, it’s a royal mess. And I’m also too broke to go back out and get a complete set to match because those babies are pricey! But if I’m buying a completed series that I have yet to read, I will definitely opt for a matching set.

    Thanks for an awesome discussion!

  6. They’re by Laini Taylor (I think you’re confusing them with Shadow and Bone/Siege and Storm haha- SPEAKING OF WHICH THOSE DON’T MATCH EITHER! US vs UK again sigh.) I think I’m going to get the UK edition so I can get the book on the day it comes out. Otherwise I have to wait for it to ship (if I buy online)

  7. GOSH DARNIT. I always get those two series confused! 😦 I’m so sorry, Nara, haha.

    What causes the not matching in your bookshelf? Ordering online and getting a different edition?

  8. yeah, I get quite a lot of books online! But if it’s an ongoing series, I like to get the book on the day it comes out so then I go for whatever edition is available. So it ends up that I don’t get matching books. sigh.

  9. The only boxed set that I own is Lisa McMann’s WAKE triology and I love those books! They are short reads but that doesn’t make them any less awesome, it was on bargain at Amazon so I was really glad that I picked them!

    I can understand why you’d find it annoying when book covers don’t match-I’m forever picky about stuff like that too so no you aren’t crazy! 😉

    I also hate it when the formats don’t match-Like my copy of Divergent is paperback but Insurgent is a hardcover and I’m like :(.

    Loving the new look(and the name), Ana-I’m so glad to have you back! 😀

    Nuzaifa @ Say It with Books

  10. I totally get what you mean!! I need my books in a series to match and they all have to be in the same format, if they don’t it would just drive me insane! So whenever I buy books in a series I usually get them in hardcover because they’re more likely to match but since they cost more it just means I’m going to have to wait a little longer but if they all match, it will be worth it!!

  11. I’m completely the same! If I have the first book in paperback, I need all the books in paperback. And yeah, sometimes that means waiting, but I’ll rather wait longer than have a series that doesn’t match on my shelves. Glad I’m not the only one who thinks this way! Sometimes I regret this, though. When I have a favorite series, I want to own them in hardcover, because hardcover is prettier and more durable. But if I bought the first one in paperback, I’ll buy the other ones in paperback anyway. This is very conflicting haha. If I had the money, I would just replace the paperback for a hardcover, but alas I don’t have that money.

    I love the idea of box sets, but I only own one. I would really really want to have the new Harry Potter box set, because I think it’s so pretty. But unfortunately it’s too expensive for me right now!

  12. I also want my books to match but sometimes it’s hard to do so. Sometimes publishers even change the cover in the midst of a series. And sometimes I’m too impatient to wait on box sets. Haha! But I do want them. I can’t afford all of them though so I usually have to choose.

  13. Hello, Joy! Happy New Year to you too! Thanks for stopping by the blog. 😀

    Oh that is a constant dilemma, isn’t it? You really want to read the next one but it just doesn’t match, haha! I usually just wait. And wait. And die inside because of all the waiting. Agreed, those babies are totally pricey!

    Thanks for contributing! 😀

  14. I usually don’t pay much attention to when a book will come out, so I usually just miss the release date, haha! But still, sigh at non-matching books! 😦

  15. Hi, Nuz! Glad to be back! 😀

    I haven’t heard of that series but it looks like it’s available at my library. Definitely going to pick that up soon. 🙂 It’s great that you managed to find a set at a bargain. Kudos!

    Whew! I’m so glad to hear that I’m not totally off my rocker. 😉

    Oh no! The paperback-hardcover not matching is one of my absolute worst bookish nightmares! Noooo! What format were you thinking of getting for the last book?

  16. Yay! Someone to help me convince my mind that I am NOT crazy! Do books usually come out in hardcover first? What’s your favourite hardcover set that you own? 🙂

  17. Oh, I totally get you. I would wait longer as well for a book to match the rest, even if it would kill me if the last book ended on some sort of cliffhanger. As for hardcover over paperback, I’m actually more careful with my hardcover books even though they would be more durable. Maybe it’s because they’re prettier that I need to take care of them more. Paperbacks get handled and tossed around even if they aren’t less durable for me. 😛

    That set IS really pretty! And very expensive, haha!

  18. Oh no, I hate it with publishers do that! Argh!

    Haha, I totally understand. Waiting for box sets can be a pain, especially if you just want to move forward NOW. 🙂 What series have you experienced that with? You finished a book and just HAD to run out and buy the next one.

  19. Probably Delirium by Lauren Oliver. And then I regretted it because after Pandeomium, I wanted Requiem which wasn’t out yet that time. Haha! I actually got Mass Market Paperbacks for the first two, but now I have them all in hardback. 😀

  20. I agree with you 100%! I purposely borrow e-books from the library when I think I’ll love a series just so I can wait for the boxed set to come out! Right now I’m bumming that I might go to an author event where I’ll *have* to buy an out-of-sequence book and I feel so silly being so irritated by this. Glad I’m not alone! 😉 haha!

  21. Haha! It’s a sure toss-up! On one hand, yay for author events! On the other, boo for buying a book out of sequence! I should really try that ebook trick instead of waiting ages and ages for a boxed set or something. 🙂

Comments are closed.